MO-LTAP Scholars Program

The primary purpose of the MO-LTAP Scholars Program is to train skilled personnel within Missouri local transportation and public works agencies.  The program provides training to increase knowledge of local public works and road systems and improve administrative, supervisory, technical, and worker skills.

Training is provided by professional instructors.  Classes are offered at multiple locations across Missouri at least once every two years.  Attendance is tracked and certificates are awarded for completion of each class.  MO-LTAP Scholars Program Certificates are awarded at various statewide conferences and meetings such as Missouri Association of County Transportation Officials (MACTO) or Missouri Chapter APWA.  In addition, an awards ceremony can be scheduled at the graduate’s place of employment.

The program allows participants to attain two levels of achievement:  MO-LTAP Scholars I and MO-LTAP Scholars II.  Participants are required to meet the requirements for level I before completing level II.  MO-LTAP Scholars II is intended to train personnel for supervisory and administrative positions.  Employees of all Missouri public entities are invited to participate in any section of the Missouri LTAP, “Show – Me” Scholars Program.

Please download that following document for a complete list of the MO-LTAP Scholars Program levels, courses and the cost per person per class.

Check out these other pages for more information on the Missouri LTAP Scholars Program:



Getting Started

Click here and complete the application form for the Missouri LTAP Scholars Program.  Fax it to (573) 341-7245 or mail it to our office at 710 University Drive, Suite 121, Rolla, MO 65401.  The full series of required classes must be completed within four years of the date of application.  There will not be a fee to apply for the program but there may be a fee for the various classes.  The amount will vary depending on the Scholar level of the class.  Classes will be offered on an on-going basis at various locations throughout the state.  Click here to see the current courses available.

Committee MemberS

Larry Benz, Cole County
Larry Bishop, Cole County
Patrick Bonnot, Missouri Intergovernmental Risk Management Association (MIRMA)
Cindy Cox, Linn State Technical College
Greg Edington, Boone County Public Works
Mike Geisel, City of Chesterfield
Stuart Haynes, Missouri Municipal League (MML)
Sean McGonigle, Missouri Association of Counties (MAC)
Dawn Perkins, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)
Bill Stone, Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT)
Wayne Turner, Webster County
Dawn Warren, Missouri Emergency Response Commission (MERC)